New Releases

Blur Officially Announce Two New Songs

Blur will debut two new songs next Monday (2nd July) in a live video stream performance on Twitter. The band will perform ‘Under The Westway’ and ‘The Puritan’, written for their forthcoming sold-out Hyde Park gig on 12th August, live from a secret UK location and it will be broadcast around the world on Twitter at 6:15pm. Scroll down the page and click to hear audience recorded live versions of the songs.

An interview with the band will follow the performance of the first track before they will debut the second song at 7:15pm. Both songs will then be immediately available to download. A limited edition double A-side 7-inch single will be released by Parlophone on 6th August. Commenting on the live video stream performance, Damon Albarn said:

“I wrote these songs for Hyde Park and I’m really excited about getting out there and playing them for people.”

On Friday, Blur teased fans by posting times and the names of the tracks on their Twitter page. ‘The Puritan’ post features a picture of a neon lettering stating “Hey puritan what you gonna do about it” while the shot which accompanies the ‘Under The Westway’ tweet features a photo of the West London overpass emblazoned with the words: “Bring us the day they switch off the machines.”

Alex James – ‘Introduction’

Graham & Damon – ‘Under The Westway’

Damon – ‘The Puritan’


Editor & Photographer. Eclectic music tastes and fan of a good beat. Can usually be found at a Gig across the Country or at a Festival in the Summer - More than likely with a camera surgically attached to me.