The Hives Announce New Album Details

The Hives
The Hives

The Hives have unveiled the tracklisting for their first studio album for five years ‘Lex Hives’. The album will be released on 5th June and is the Swedish band’s follow-up to their 2007 record ‘Black And White Hives’. It has been produced by the band themselves.

The record contains a total of 12 regular tracks, including new single ‘Go Right Ahead’, which is the second track on the LP. There are two further tracks will be included on the digital edition only. The band’s frontman Howlin’ Pelle Almqvist has previously said that though some tracks on the album represent a significant departure from their earlier records, the LP “still sounds like The Hives”. Almqvist said of this:

“There’s no formula, but it definitely sounds like The Hives. Every good band there is has a certain sound. There are a few songs that couldn’t have been on any of other Hives album, that are sort of a departure, but I’d say that kind of happened on the last time album too. But I’d also say that they couldn’t have been on any other album by anybody else either.”

The band are expected to announce fresh live dates in support of the album in the coming weeks.

The tracklisting for ‘Lex Hives’ is as follows:

Come On!
Go Right Ahead
1000 Answers
I Want More
Wait a Minute
Patrolling Days
Take Back The Toys
Without The Money
These Spectacles Reveal The Nostalgics
My Time Is Coming
If I Had A Cent
Midnight Shifter
High School Shuffle* – Digital Bonus Track
Insane* – Digital Bonus Track


Editor & Photographer. Eclectic music tastes and fan of a good beat. Can usually be found at a Gig across the Country or at a Festival in the Summer - More than likely with a camera surgically attached to me.