New Releases

Sivu Debut Album Set For October Release

Singer-songwriter SIVU has announced that his debut album Something on High will be released on October 6th via Atlantic Records. The album, which comes off the back of his recent Miracle (Human Error) EP, looks set to continue to develop the blend of minor chords, heavenly falsettos, and beautifully constructed orchestration that have already seen him build an impressive head of steam as far as critical success is concerned.

Going by the name James Page when not performing, the moniker Sivu apparently came about when he looked up the translation of his surname into Finnish. Fortunately, his lush, cinematic take on pop melodies and arrangements need no further explanation, and with festival appearances coming up at Reading & Leeds, Bestival, and Wilderness, there should be plenty more fans speaking his language in the coming months.

Building on the themes that have so far defined his work, Something on High will reportedly focus on the importance of faith and courage, as well as the tribulations that come along with the uncertainty of adulthood. While there’s not much more to go on for the moment (aside from this wonderful new Frank Sinatra cover), there is a full track listing whose titles give some indication of the toe of things to come.

Sivu – ‘Something On High’
1. Feel Something
2. Rumination
3. Bodies
4. Better Man Than He
5. Can’t Stop Now
6. Love Lives In This House
7. My Oh My
8. Miracle (Human Error)
9. Sleep
10. Communicate
11. Departure

Something on High is released October 6th via Atlantic Records, preceding his short UK tour later that month. Full dates are as follows:

14 – Oslo, London
15 – The Hope, Brighton
16 – Soup Kitchen, Manchester
17 – Glad Cafe, Glasgow

Adrienne Law

Soundcheck's Content Editor. Music Lover, box set addict and compulsive reader.