New Releases

The Fixx To Release New Album ‘Beautiful Friction’

The Fixx
2012 sees the original line-up of one of the biggest-selling bands of the MTV-era, The Fixx, celebrate their 30th anniversary with the release of their tenth studio album, ‘Beautiful Friction’. The band still features the same five members that created almost every one of their previous studio albums.

New album ‘Beautiful Friction’ is out 20th August on Hypertension Music and is produced by Nick Jackson and mixed by longtime collaborator, Stephen W. Tayler (with additional mixes from Mark Needham (The Killers). This collection of new songs is already being described as “among their very best”, and sees the band evolving yet again and seeking new musical horizons.

The Fixx achieved huge success throughout the whole of the Eighties, particularly in America where they scored three No.1 hit singles, five in the Top Five, a dozen reaching the Top Ten, as well as selling millions of albums in the US and right around the globe. The band’s greatest hits album has sold more than two million copies to date.

Instantly recognizable, The Fixx’s themes are often complex, introspective and thought-provoking but their sound is unmistakably unique, and the band enjoy a special connection with their audience to this day. Hit singles such as ‘One Thing Leads To Another’, ‘Red Skies’ and ‘Saved By Zero’ remain everyday staples on the playlists of the US radio stations that continue to break new acts inspired the era that The Fixx helped to define.

The ‘Beautiful Friction’ album tracklisting is:

Anyone Else
Just Before Dawn
Take a Risk
Beautiful Friction
What God?
Second Time Around
Follow That Cab
Something Ahead of You.
Girl With No Ceiling
Small Thoughts


Editor & Photographer. Eclectic music tastes and fan of a good beat. Can usually be found at a Gig across the Country or at a Festival in the Summer - More than likely with a camera surgically attached to me.